Custom Work for Amanda

A specially designed pair of earrings for my friend Amanda

A specially designed pair of earrings for my friend Amanda

One of my pleasures as a crafts person is to fill the requests of friends and acquaintances who are looking for something specific. In this case, my friend Amanda wanted earrings to match a brass necklace with sky-blue tiger eye beads and navy glass accents. We were having dim sum in Chinatown and I quickly snapped a few photos for reference. Tiger eye beads were the craze a few years ago, but they’re difficult to find these days. My mother, I’m sure, still has dozens in storage, but she also sent me a number of czech firepolished glass, turquoise glass speckled with coral highlights, and navy Swarovski crystal, which is what I ended up using for these earrings. I also incorporated a few antique brass beads of different shapes, in order to give the earrings a modern look that would match the necklace’s cut-metal flowers.

About Phoebe Wang

Apollo's sister. A moon off Saturn, a small, sparrow-like bird, once a Titan.

Whadya think?